Craft beer bridges partisan divide in Senate (via Politico.com)

10 Mar

Craft beer bridges partisan divide in Senate – On Congress – POLITICO.com.

I think this legislation would be fantastic to see go through. Our country started out with one of its express purposes being supporting the everyday man and woman be able to make their dreams a reality. With all the conglomerates and mega-corporations it has become harder and harder to do that in recent years. Any legislation like this helps us get back to the basics!

2 Responses to “Craft beer bridges partisan divide in Senate (via Politico.com)”

  1. Rick Koinsky June 17, 2011 at 6:16 pm #

    Hi Amber, I read your article in Zymurgy about re-using spent grains. I saw the part about spreading it directly over one’s yard. I run a little hobby farm, raising llamas. I tried spreading spent grain in one of my pastures. It kills anything it touches. Try it… the grass will dye within a week. I do not know why for sure. I am guessing it is a pH thing, but never bothered to try to figure it out.

    I now pile the spend grains up in a manure pile and let it rot for several months. I add lime to the whole pile (llama poo is slightly acidic, as is most poo). The composted mess works great.

    So, composted… well, OK, but spread fairly fress grain on the lawn and it will kill it quicker than Roundup.

    Rick

    • amberdegrace June 24, 2011 at 11:08 am #

      Hi Rick! Thanks for stopping by and commenting. That’s interesting that you’ve had that result with spent grains killing the grass. I’ve been spreading mine for a year and haven’t had that happen at all. I wonder if certain grasses are vulnerable and others are hardier? That’s good information to know, it’s a shame I can’t go in and add a note concerning the experience you’ve had with spreading grains. I appreciate your feedback!

Leave a Reply

