The Porterhouse Brewing Company, Dublin

28 Apr

It’s 7:30am and I’m ready to talk to you about beer. More importantly, I’m ready to talk to you about traveling for beer. We recently returned from a lovely vacation to the Netherlands and Ireland, and of course one of the first things we look for anywhere we go is local breweries. Tilburg (NL) had a nice spot called for Belgian beer, called Little Devil (my favorite was Barbar). Ireland had all the traditional Irish pubs that you expect, with charming live music or friendly local clientele, but for the beer we couldn’t help but fall in love with what The Porterhouse Brewing Company has going for them.

Porterhouse Brewing Co

Oh, and in case you are wondering, we are indeed in Dublin in this photograph. It was sunny nearly every single day while in this gorgeous country, except for one brooding day while on a trip to see the Cliffs of Moher.

The Porterhouse Brewing Company brews their own beer and they do it quite well. On our first day in Ireland, about a week before we went to the actual brewery, we took a short little skip to Howth. Howth is a fishing community peppered with trendy boutiques and lovely cafes. Our wonderful host, Paul, took us to lunch at The House and it was at this establishment that I enjoyed not only the dish I always order if it’s on the menu:

charcuterie

(charcuterie, of course) … but I also ordered my first Porterhouse Brewing Company beer:

oyster stout

I’ve always been a tad skeptical about oyster stouts. I love oysters when they’re raw but my uvula rebels as soon as they’re cooked. I’m probably a bit backwards, eh? I’m okay with my quirks. The thought of tossing oysters in beer just sounds weird. Like, almost unnatural. But hey, I’m only living this life once so the oyster stout is definitely what I ordered. I enjoy challenging myself sometimes. Not too often, mind you, but plenty enough to make me feel a moment of empowerment.

The oyster stout? Delicious. Strong and smooth, it went down about as quickly as, well, a slippery oyster. I did mind my p’s and q’s and only had one. We had an early morning flight to Eindhoven the next day so I behaved.

Oh, and if you’re wondering about The House: please do go there. It’s a lovely cafe with a mouthwatering menu and the service was top notch. Prices were comparable to nearly everywhere else we ate in Europe and the town of Howth is a good diversion from the hustle and bustle of Dublin city.

Let’s go back into Dublin now and take the bus to the Temple Bar area. We’ll window shop for a few minutes, because Temple Bar is filled to the brim with all sorts of places perfect for those of you who have money burning a hole in your pocket. We’re done shopping now. Time to drink. Keep an eye out for The Porterhouse Brewing Company on Parliament Street because once there you can give your weary shopping feet a rest and throw back a few pints. I even invite you to sample some food from their menu, like the bangers and mash.

The building is impressive. There are several stories of seating and every wall is covered in display cases, all containing bottles of beer.

The walls are also filled with framed curiosities, like the old laws on being a drunkard or enabling a drunkard:

and there are several adorable little cubbies with a table and seating, for those of you who crave privacy.

The menu is full of whimsy and was a delight to read as we guzzled down a few pints.

The bathrooms are down in the basement and I didn’t see any lift so I’m thinking this place is not wheelchair accessible. [Note: Many thanks to Fiona at The Porterhouse Brewing Company for letting me know that the Temple Bar location is wheelchair accessible! That is fantastic to know!] Certainly it shouldn’t be a problem to come in and sit at the downstairs bar or tables but I know I can’t hold my bladder well once I’m a few glasses in. Interesting side-note on the ladies toilet: there is a coin operated hair straightener down there. So if the weather has your hair in an uproar you are set.

Along with a selection of their own brewed beers (like An Brain Blasta and Porterhouse Red), they also carry a range of other Irish craft beer and international beer both on draught and bottled.

Our bartender was efficient and friendly. The owner came in a couple times and we had a chance to have a small chit-chat with him about the brewing at Porterhouse. Things are going quite well for them and their business in the United States is such that they’re opening a satellite bar in New York City! If you find yourself twiddling thumbs in the Big Apple, make your way to the Financial District and look them up at Fraunces Tavern.

Definitely stop in one of the several Porterhouse Brewing Company locations and order yourself a perky pint. Don’t we all love them?

6 Responses to “The Porterhouse Brewing Company, Dublin”

  1. Andy April 28, 2011 at 9:03 am #

    We will definitely keep Fraunces Tavern in mind next time we are in NYC. Also, it’s never to early to write and dream about good beer ;)

    • amberdegrace April 28, 2011 at 11:25 am #

      I agree – never too early! :)

  2. JayZeis April 28, 2011 at 9:51 am #

    my mouth is watering

    • amberdegrace April 28, 2011 at 11:26 am #

      Good! Then I have succeeded in my morning’s writing!

  3. Fiona April 28, 2011 at 11:22 am #

    Hey guys, wonderful review. Delighted you enjoyed it. Just to let you know that we are wheel chair acessible, the accessible is by the front door on the left. Really glad you enjoyed your trip and hope to see you again soon. Join us on Facebook for the latest news! :) Cheers

    • amberdegrace April 28, 2011 at 11:28 am #

      Thank you for the lovely time in Dublin and for the comment! I will make note right away about the wheel chair accessibility and will also look you up on Facebook. :) Cheers!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

